The Shortlist:

  • alt-j – ‘Relaxer’
  • Blossoms – ‘Blossoms’
  • Dinosaur – ‘Together, As One’
  • Ed Sheeran – ‘÷’
  • Glass Animals – ‘How to Be a Human Being’
  • J Hus – ‘Common Sense’
  • Kate Tempest – ‘Let Them Eat Chaos’
  • Loyle Carner – ‘Yesterday’s Gone’
  • Sampha – ‘Process’
  • Stormzy – ‘Gang Signs & Prayer’
  • The Big Moon – ‘Love in the 4th Dimension’
  • The xx – ‘I See You’

7 tracks that struck a chord:

Artist Sampha

Album Process

Song (No One Knows Me) Like The Piano

Artist Dinosaur

Album Together, As One

Song Living, Breathing

Artist Blossoms

Album Blossoms

Song Honey Sweet

Artist alt-J

Album Relaxer

Song Adeline

Artist Glass Animals

Album How To Be A Human Being

Song Season 2 Episode 3

Artist J Hus

Album Common Sense

Song Clartin

Artist Loyle Carner

Album Yesterday’s Gone

Song Damselfly

The 2017 Mercury Prize Awards Show will take place on Thursday 14 September at the Eventim Apollo, west London. BBC Four will show live television coverage of the awards on the night, and they’ll also be played on BBC Radio 6 Music.

Follow @7DeadlyThings on TwitterFacebook and Instagram

Have some news?